For a better Experience

Open in App 📲
Send a request

Is Turkey a Schengen country?

Is Turkey a Schengen country?

People who are willing to travel throughout Europe apply for Schengen. It is the name of a visa that people should get to travel to Europe including most of the countries on the continent.

The idea was first launched in 1985. France, Germany, Belgium, Luxembourg, and Netherland opened up their borders in that way. Schengen was the name of the town where the five countries agreed to it. The little town giving its name to a visa that is the most known visa regime around the world is found in Luxembourg. The borders of these countries are recognized as ‘’Schengen Area’’

What is Schengen?

Schengen aims to borders out so that the countries are able to increase the security of people who travel in the free travel area by the outline borders. The agreement consists of not only the border of the land but also air and customs in it. There is no control at the border and custom except for extraordinary situations. The visa helps people easy travel by not involving too much bureaucracy, ease transportation and communication in Europe.

There is also the advantage for the other countries which are not part of Schengen. If you plan to visit a couple of countries in Europe, Getting a multiple access visa from one of the Schengen countries is enough to travel throughout Europe. It is possible to pass from one of the member countries without applying for a visa in each country.

Schengen Countries

The pact includes 26 Schengen countries, 22 out of 27 European Union countries and 4 countries that are not part of the EU. Greek Republic of Southern Cyprus, Romania, Bulgaria and Croatia are not part of Schengen, even a member of the EU. The pact also contains Iceland, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, and Norway even they are not in the EU.

Schengen countries: Germany, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Netherland, Iceland, Italy, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Letonia, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Greece.

Non-member countries but you can also travel with Schengen: Bulgaria, Croatia, Monaco, Romania, San Marino, and Vatikan

Schengen Agreement breaking up the borders in Europe and the advantage of easy access enables 400 million Europeans to travel without being any border. A tourist, student, and businessman who gets the visa can also benefit from the same advantage. However, Turkey is not a Schengen country. Therefore, it should be another visa for easy access.